Over and over and over…

by missmaudy

I’ve long been a fan of Kate Atkinson, starting with Behind the Scenes at the Museum and all the way through the Jackson Brodie mysteries, so it was with great anticipation I opened up Life after Life.

Have to say that it was wonderful. It tells the story of Ursula Todd through the many threads of her life, she ‘dies’ over and over again; when she’s born, she falls out a window, she catches influenza… and is reborn and lives her life again and again.

It’s extraordinary and I really don’t want to go much more into it as I don’t want to ‘spoil’ the story. But I will say that it shows the impact different decisions can make on how your life pans out, and how even the most trivial thing can make a dramatic difference – butterflies in Japan, anyone.

