Day 16: The best smell in the world…

by missmaudy

Smells are very powerful things, capable of taking you back to a space and time that nothing else can… Every so often I catch a whiff of someone and turn around, expecting them to be someone else entirely and my memory and I are alternately disappointed and relieved. My grandmother always wore Giorgio perfume, and Ponds cold cream – both smells take me back to holidays down the coast.

The smell of the ocean, the smell of a thunderstorm just before it rains…

Right now though, the best smells ever are being the first person to walk into my house after the cleaner has been – that smell of clean rushing into my nostrils is amazing.  Of course, it only lasts until the people behind me shove past and into the house.

And coming home late from work to the smell of dinner cooking.

 

 

