The Gods of Guilt

by missmaudy

Michael Connelly is one of my favourite writers despite being a bit of a McAuthor. His books are totally readable and quick; which is a good thing. But at the same time, they’re eminently forgettable. McBooks. This one was a Mickey Haller one, (Think I prefer Harry Bosch to be honest. Mickey is a bit light on.) and I think I must have missed one, or a hell of a lot of stuff happened between the last Haller book and this one.

Still, it was an absolute cracker read -super fast and action packed. Because of the gap between the two stories, I really felt like I was missing something about the changes in the relationship between Mickey and his ex wife, and it seemed like it was important. Maybe there’s a novella or something? Anyway, aside from the whole “huh? I thought they were getting along?” feeling I had throughout, it was good fun. There were a couple of totally OMFG moments – the first of which wasn’t a surprise.  You could see something coming. The second one? Nope. That was definitely a BLOODY HELL. WTF. Um. What just happened there? It made the book better than it was. I wouldn’t give it four stars, even though I enjoyed it – but that’s mainly because I don’t love the Mickey Haller books as much as the Bosch ones, and there were too many excellent coincidences that nicely moved the story along for it to be anything more than a three and a bit.

I did like the title though. The “Gods of Guilt” refers to the jury, and the role they play in determining the guilt of the defendant; and how the Gods of Guilt translate to real life; and how people get judged by a jury of their peers for so many things they do, don’t do and probably should do (yes, I’m talking women again. I was reading this at the same time as the #yesallwomen hashtag was going off after that nutbag murdered seven people because he couldn’t get a root. Newsflash, mate – it’s not women that have a problem, it’s you.) But yeah, the whole “Gods of Guilt” made me think about the blame game and how people are so damn judgmental about pretty much everything anyone else ever does; and how being that judgmental doesn’t really help anyone get along. But yeah, bit off on a tangent there.  Nowt to do with the actual book at all!

 

