The Diogenes Trilogy

by missmaudy

One thing I must say since motoring through Game of Thrones – the idea of binge reading a trilogy back to back is no longer as disconcerting. Particularly when the three volumes together are a mere 1,400 pages. That’s child’s play, I tell you, child’s play!

The Diogenes Trilogy is by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. This series features Aloysius Pendergast and Vincent D’Agosta, plus a heap of other characters that have been in earlier books (in hindsight, I probably should have started at the start because some stuff would have made a lot more sense, but no matter – they certainly made enough sense without the earlier ones, and there was enough back story with most of the characters that it was pretty clear). Brimstone (the first one) is fairly creepy and weird with people dying in suitably gruesome fashions; the second one  (Dance of Death) – was pretty good, and left you hanging to read #3 (The Book of the Dead). I would have to say that Brimstone and The Book of the Dead were my two favourites, with Dance of Death coming in third. It’s probably a bit difficult to go into too much detail about the stories themselves without spoiling things. Plus, I read the three one after the other, so a couple of the side-stories have got muddled in my mind. Now, there’s loads of homages to other famous detectives and detective fiction – for me, this was an added thrill because I’ve been reading crime n death since – well, since I grew out of the Famous Five books when I was a kid (I moved on to Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie, Ngaio Marsh and the like), and Preston and Child have filched entire characters (with due credit!) from other crime novels. And the odd scene that is reminiscent of crucial moments in other books (spoilers if I go any further, so I won’t – suffice to say I was sort of not expecting that particular ending, and I’m almost not sure that the ending won’t be reminiscent of the one it is copying. Clear as mud, yes?)

This isn’t the first time I’ve read books written by two people, but in these, you can almost tell which sections are written by one, and which by the other (don’t know which is which, however) and there’s one I do prefer over the other – I liked the Pendegast sections, and the D’Agusto bits, and not so much the Nora parts. But that’s me and my own particular preferences. But the three of them were a cracking read and I’m not sure what I am going to read next to be honest… Something different, maybe?

