Some things

by missmaudy

Ok… what’s going on at Chez McGee? Some reading, some gallivanting about the country, some making of decisions, some watching of the telly and some crocheting and some stuff, really. Lots of things.

Firstly the reading – I read a book called The Magicians by Lev Grossman. It was um. Weird as fuck but I liked it. Some kid accidentally wanders into a school for magicians and learns about magic (think Hogwarts with more shagging and a dorkier uniform. The kids are 17 or so when they end up there, so yeah, sex and drugs and rock and roll). It’s sort of a bit wafty and bizarre but at the same time, totally believeable. The end was a bit WTF, though but then I discovered it was a trilogy and that explained everything. While I haven’t picked up the other two books yet, they’re on my ‘to acquire’ list. Apparently, it’s going to be a tv series. I could believe that. It’s that kind of book.

I’m currently reading The Peripheral by William Gibson. William Gibson invented “cyberspace” in Neuromancer – which is one of the few books I’ve read maybe ten times (I’m more of a once or maybe twice kind of reader) but the world of Neuromancer was something unbelievable but completely real at the same time. (Apparently it’s unreadable now, because it’s no longer speculating and it seems weird. I won’t be letting my battered, sandy, sunscreen stained copy go any time soon though.) The Peripheral is set in the nearish future and the later future at the same time. Can’t really tell you much more – I’m about a third of the way through it.

The thing about reading speculative fiction ties in nicely with the gallivanting – driverless car conference which was rather epic and rather good. Since I watched Bladerunner, I’ve been obsessed with the idea of a future when you can call up a car to take you where you need to be and wave it goodbye when you don’t. The future is sooner than we think. If you can see past the future ridiculousness of the legislative dramarama that goes without saying when a very small population is spread over a very large area. Srsly, didn’t get rid of multiple gauge railways until  40 or so years ago. We’re good at ridiculous legislation – and this needs to be dealt with at a Federal level. BUT when the future gets here,  people who are unable to drive for whatever reason – age, disability, whatever – can potentially be handed the key to increased mobility. It has many potential benefits. And wombats (conference joke. Hur hur hur).

