{insert something pithy here}

by missmaudy

The Gentleman of the house and my good self have been debating casually the relative merits of ditching the land line and embracing the mobile phone only household. We keep coming reluctantly down on the side of “eh, we probably should keep it” despite only our parents, a couple of chaps from the car club and those annoying scammers who want to fix our windows ever calling us. The main reason being is the Mayhem doesn’t have a telephone of his own (and no ten year old needs a mobile phone of his own, so we’re not even contemplating going there. And the effort involved in maintaining and keeping charged a spare mobile on the off chance… well, easier to just use the land line).

Anyway, the land line phone has been a bit crackly and hard to hear and getting progressively worse for the last few weeks – we’re merrily assuming it’s the hand set (it’s pretty old) and do we get another one blah blah until the crackling upgrades to what really sounds like space aliens having some grown up time. Ahem. This is not optimal. Regardless of what we ultimately decide about the land line, right now it needs some fixing. So, on the phone I get to our provider of telecommunications… waiting waiting 20 minutes. Hrrm. Do I stay or do I go? Stay, because tomorrow night it might be 30 minutes and tomorrow night is Friday and then it won’t get fixed til for ever. Waiting waiting doing all the things while I wait waiting waiting…

The lady who finally answered me – well, while she was friendly and polite enough, she was pretty damn keen on me organising my own technician. Because it was totally going to cost me about a million dollars and all if they come and it’s on my premises. So do you want to get our technician or yours because it’ll cost you if it’s on your premises. (Except, that she kept saying ‘premise’ instead of premises. That was annoying.) Anyway, I am nothing if not persistent. Um, the last time I had a problem with my landline, the person I talked to could you know, check the line and tell what sort of problem it was… Oh, I *suppose* I could do that… lalalalalaaaaaaa hold music and she’s ba-aaack. Yeah, it appears the phone line is a trifle NQR and the fault appears to be off my “premise” and we’ll organise a technician. It will be fixed by Monday.  Noice!

(Have to confess I wasn’t quite sure how they’d manage to fix it by Monday, considering it was 9.30pm on Thursday night, and 7pm Monday seemed a trifle ambitious unless it was just something unplugged somewhere.)

Fast forward to a quick call on Friday from a technician who said someone would come and see me. And whadderyouknow – this afternoon. Sunday. Technician. Lovely chap. Spot of overtime. Not so much of the fixing of the phone line, though. Turns out we have a private line, because none of the other three houses attached to our line have the phone on. Noice. There’s a short in the line from all accounts, and he’s a) not quite sure where it is and b) thinks it’s covered with lead. As in the metal. He did do quite a lot of driving up and down the street, though. He’s popped it back in the queue and yeah, probably Tuesday. And if it’s not that, it’s going to be a couple weeks. If it ends up being Door #2, it means they’re going to quite probably have to go to a fair bit of trouble for what is effectively ONE phone line. So far, their service has been quite lovely. It will be interesting to see if this continues…

 

