Do Pidgeys taste like chicken?

by missmaudy

Enquiring minds would like to know. Pinsirs, despite looking a bit angry bull like are insects and thus not very tasty. And Goldeens and Magicarps are definitely nasty fishy things. Enquiring minds like to discuss all manner of interesting things when one is driving in the car. Including the ins and outs of Harry Potter and what to do when one is ready for Book 5 and it’s a hard cover and it will probably be too heavy to bring to school each day (his teacher will let him read his copy at school. Win)

Aside from the Pokemon Go-ing (and endless debate about what different Pokemon would taste like), I too have been reading rather a lot. One of my (many) ongoing Personal Challenges is to read two books a month. I am being a success at this challenge, having read 27 books this year (in just under ten months).

I’ve managed two most months this year, and in August, I managed three (albeit two were on the short side) In September, however –  I READ FIVE WHOLE BOOKS. This reading frenzy I embarked on was aided and abetted by several journeys on public transport – Four trains, two buses, a couple of trams, two planes and a selection of taxis and hire cars. Aside from the last two, all provide ample opportunity for whipping through copious books. (The last two options would have involved spewing if I tried to read.)  But you don’t really want to hear about my travails with the Stinky Cabbie, or the Most Racist Cabbie, or fitting four comfortably built ladies into a Prius (I’m sure you can imagine that for yourself.) And I’ve read one so far in October. On to the books…

The first two I read are the second and third of the Laundry Files by Charles Stross. I would probably call this urban fantasy – magic and stuff interacting with the Real World, but in this series, the protagonist is ostensibly an IT dude but accidentally ends up being some kind of secret agent. I didn’t read them in order, which was a bit of an accident. I didn’t realise Book One was actually one book. I am old and blonde. These things happen. Then, for something completely different, Death Without Company by Craig Johnson. I got onto these after watching the Netflix series Longmire. Now, the Netflix Longmire is quite dark and angsty. The book Longmire is not so much. And has really ordinary taste in women. The characters are similar to the telly series, but some are obviously an amalgamation of two or more of the book characters. I do like both the book and the telly Longmire, but they’re so different, it’s hard to see the connection between the two. The books are quite soothing and nice.

I also read the new Val McDermid (Out of Bounds). This is the fourth Karen Pirie novel – this is more of a police procedural than the Tony Hill ones, and Karen herself is easier to relate to than Carol Jordan. She has her share of problems, and yes, she’s a bit mouthy. But I find her more human. Anyway, the story was good and the tangled ends were sort of more or less sorted out. Really enjoyed it (also, paid actual cold hard cash for a paper book. This is Quite Unusual.) At the same time, I also read The Red Road by Denise Mina. I didn’t realise before, but Alex Morrow has a similar ‘voice’ to Karen Pirie – I suppose because I was reading them simultaneously it was more evident, and maybe once or twice I got confused as to who I was reading about (and may have mentally looked for the odd person before realising I was reading one and not the other). Tip for young players, don’t read two books about mouthy lady Scottish police people simultaneously.

The last one I read was another of the Ruth Galloway books by Ellie Griffiths (A Dying Fall). These are nice, and a bit samey samey. This one was a bit different in that stuff that happened will change stuff that happens in future books. Plus, she started off being quite together in a vaguely disorganised way, but she’s become a bit of a whinyarse. I know having kids fundamentally changes you, because it can’t not; but srsly Ruth, get yer hand off it. Anyway, the historical stuff is interesting and there’s um. Another four left that I shall read at some point.

So there’s six books. In six weeks. That’s some kind of miracle really.

 

